::Timişoara::

18 Oct

This past June I worked in a orphanage in Timişoara, Romania. It was the most rewarding, heart wrenching, beautiful, joyful, painful thing I have ever done and probably will ever do in my life. I think about those babies everyday and dream about them often. I find myself mistaking other babies cries or laughter for theirs. I’ve discovered that, like many mothers do when they hear any child cry, i begin to rock like I am soothing a baby, despite the fact that I am not a mother myself.  Those beautiful faces are always with me, they are always in my heart. While I would love to share images of the babies with you, taking photos of them was forbidden due to privacy and security reasons, so you will have to take my word that every single one of them absolutely was a glowing ball of joy. It was an incredibly intense experience, incredibly sorrowful and exciting, fulfilling  and draining, painful and healing. Caring for the 20 babies that lived in the two rooms my dear friend Ainsley and I were assigned to. Twenty babies just in our room. There were two other rooms with just as many babies, one of which was filled with beautiful new borns, some with names, some with out. Each one perfect and small. We fed them, changed them, burped them, played with them, danced with them, sang to them, taught them how to walk, how to sit up. Let me tell you, I had never changed a diaper before in my life and now I am a pro! I couldn’t even tell you how many diapers I changed.  Ainsley, myself, and two other women from Ainsley’s church went together through Bethany Christian Services a non-profit international adoption and child relief agency located on and aiding five continents. I am planning on going back next June, if not sooner, to continue to give to these children in some small way. And to satisfy your visual needs here are some of my favorite images taken during our time in Romania. I encourage and challenge you to get involved with Bethany’s mission trips and experience for yourself the joys of these children. It is so incredibly worth every cent, every hour, every tear, every bead of sweat, every heartache, every wave of joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Romania is in my heart always.

 

-L

One Response to “::Timişoara::”

  1. joy winkle October 19, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Beautiful pictures!!! You are truly a talented person. So glad I got to know you this summer in Romania.

Leave a Reply

