artist statement?

22 Oct

1st draft for class:

You are beautiful. You are unique. You are fascinating.

I strive to take the everyday and turn it in to something exciting. Each moment, every breath, every blink, every laugh is a moment to capture. My approach to photography is based off of capturing the small but very important and theatrical moments of life.  My photography is saturated by my roots in the theatre arts. I create images that tell stories, about you, about your history, about your future. I use my camera as a medium to retain and share the stories of others, a high school senior, a homeless woman and her dog, an airport custodian, a mother, a friend.  I see so much theater in life, I want to take it all in and I want to share it. I’m influenced by performances on stage; the imitation of life is captured so vividly, I work to do the same with my camera.  I often see life as a performance through my viewfinder. There will be comedy, romance, tragedy, and it will all be beautiful because

you are beautiful, you are unique, and you are fascinating.

One Response to “artist statement?”

  1. Auntie Rene November 22, 2009 at 4:01 am #

    My darling Leighanne!! Your work is beautiful and such a joy to see! Your red heads are stunning! Your scarves are mysterious and beautiful! The photos of the theater group are wicked intense! And i must say, the pics of you and Mikey… well, you know I got tears in my eyes! It feels so comforting to have kin around. I’m so proud of you, little woman! Your a wonderful gift for our family! I love you!!!

Leave a Reply

